Radius: Off
km Set radius for geolocation

7th Annual Surfing Champions Trophy

7th Annual Surfing Champions Trophy

Let the #FSSurf Battle of the Boards Commence!
August 7 to 13, 2017

August 8, 2017, Kuda Huraa, Maldives – Four Seasons Maldives Surfing Champions Trophy – the world’s most luxurious surfing event – returns in all its thrilling glory to Four Seasons Resorts Maldives local break, Sultans, from August 7 to 13, 2017.

Once again, six surfing legends will line-up in a battle of the boards across the contest’s unique single, double and triple fin event format for the chance to compete in the Grande Final and take the coveted SCT title.

Lining up in epic style this year, defending event champion and aerial innovator, Taj Burrow (AUS) will be joined by big wave inspiration Maya Gabeira (BRA), 2001 WSL Champion CJ Hobgood (USA), smooth-as-silk style icon Rob Machado (USA), Championship Tour star Ross Williams (HAW), and three-time Maldivian National Champion Ismail ‘Kuda Issey’ Miglal (MV).

The Opening Ceremony was held at 6:00pm Resort time (5:00pm Male time) on Tuesday August 8, at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa in the presence of Mr Thoriq Ibrahim, Minister of Environment and Energy.

Unique in many ways, the Surfing Champions Trophy (#SurfingChampionsTrophy) determines a surfer’s heat time based on their age and tests skill across three different divisions: single-fin, twin-fin, and triple-fin thruster.  Places are granted by invitation-only to just six world champions in a battle for inner-circle kudos and the US$25,000 prize winnings.

The Surfing Champions Trophy is hosted onboard Four Seasons Explorer – the Maldives’ ultimate surf vessel. Fans can get up close to the action with onboard VIP passes, while the ‘surf tour’ experience continues with shoulder-rubbing events back at Four Seasons Resort Kuda Huraa, which plays host to the contest’s competitors, judges and Tropicsurf partners (the pros behind the Resort’s surf operation.)

Log on to SurfingChampionsTrophy.com for live event updates; or follow the action with #FSSurf on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.